Color

Iris and lavenderSpring is flying by with “hazy hot and humid” summer weather. Some flowers went by so quickly I feel like I didn’t see them…where’d the azaleas go? And the rhododendrons, usually glorious for early June… some are already gone. The peonies are in full to overfull bloom, so catch them while you can (here’s last year’s peony blog: https://uribotanicalgardens.wordpress.com/2011/06/01/the-queen-of-flowers/  ) They will always be the Queens of the Garden to me!

rhododendron flowerpeonyAs flowers come and go there are some color combinations I didn’t plan around the Gardens which look great. I know, many gardeners don’t like orange flowers and especially not with cooler colors, but these are making me smile:

california poppypoppy and iris

(Sumer is icumen in)                                                                                                  Summer has arrived,
Loudly sing, Cuckoo!
The seed grows and the meadow
blooms
And the wood springs anew,
Sing, Cuckoo!

3 thoughts on “Color

  1. Michael McEvoy

    What are the beautiful orange flowers shown under May 2012? I’ve seen these in a few places but no-one can tell me what they arte and where I can get them. Can anybody help?

    Reply
  2. uribg Post author

    Hi Michael,

    The orange flowers are California Poppy, Eschscholzia californica. They are a self-seeding annual in Rhode Island. (Only a few made it through this past very cold and snowy winter though.)They like a hot, dry, sunny spot.
    Happy Gardening,
    Gabrielle

    Reply

Leave a comment