Color, Part Three

rose and daylilyRecently I was flipping through a seed catalog (a favorite activity) and something caught my eye. It was in a description of a pastel-colored flower: “offers a hint of relief from the bold colors of summer.”  Hmmm. I can’t imagine wanting relief from the bold colors of summer! They bring me joy, they make me smile every time (even orange!:-) ). The bold colors of summer are only here for a little while, really. I enjoy autumn colors but there is always that feeling of an end approaching in the fall. Winter has it’s evergreen and red, with black and  white accents. Spring begins with pastel-colored ephemerals, which I also enjoy….the anticipation and the newness. But what are we anticipating? Summer, of course! So bring on the bold colors of summer, I will revel in them for as long as they are here.

large yellow daylilyscarlet meidiland rose

blue hydrangea

astilbe 'red sentinel'rubeckia

2 thoughts on “Color, Part Three

  1. Simon Smith

    I completely agree – why have pale when you have bright?! Besides, the different greens of the foliage break up the brightness of the blooms anyway. 🙂

    Reply

Leave a comment