Chilly

frosty window

Happy New Year!

“January brings the snow, makes our feet and fingers glow.”

Coldest days of the winter so far are upon us.  I received a gift of an indoor-outdoor thermometer which records minimum/maximum temperatures. Now when I get up 5:30 I know it really IS cold, instead of guessing! I am hoping to skate on the pond by this weekend, something that doesn’t happen every winter here in southern Rhode Island.

frost on glass in conservatory

frost on glass in conservatory

frost5 F this morning up here at the greenhouse, (0 F down at my house) but bright and sunny.  I love the magical, feathery frost patterns that form on the glass inside the conservatory! It’s warm and lovely in the greenhouse, especially when the sun comes out. The grafted citrus tree is blooming, and the scent of orange blossoms is in the air, mixed with the fragrance of the flowering gardenias…heavenly! Since I can only show you the flowers, you’ll have to come in and experience the sweet smells for yourself.

citrus blossoms

Citrus (Citrus limon) blossoms

citrus blossoms

citrus blossoms

Is January cold where you are?

Calliandra californica, Baja Fairy Duster

Calliandra californica, Baja Fairy Duster

Gasteria verrucosa

Wart Plant, Gasteria verrucosa.

bird of paradise

The Flock (Bird of Paradise, Strelitzia reginae)

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Chilly

  1. New Hampshire Garden Solutions

    I miss the smell of a greenhouse. You have some interesting plants in there! Coincidentally, I have friends who winter in Florida who sent me a photo of a flower to identify. I had never seen it but it turns out to be just like the Gasteria verrucosa that you have posted here. We don’t see too many cacti or succulents blooming here in New Hampshire!

    Reply
  2. uribg Post author

    I have a soft spot in my heart for succulents, especially in winter when they are flowering! There are many Gasteria varieties available, they all have similar flowers.

    Reply

Leave a comment